Exploring American Democracy

with Alexis de Tocqueville as Guide

Alec Arellano is currently working on a PhD at the University of Texas at Austin, studying under the direction of Jeffrey Tulis and Thomas Pangle.

Chris Barker teaches political thought at Southwestern College. He has previously held positions at Ohio University, Boston College, and Harvard University.

Originally from Phoenix, Arizona, Sean Beienburg attended Pomona College in Claremont, California, graduating in 2008 with majors in politics and history, and completed his Ph.D. at Princeton University in 2015. He started teaching at Lehigh University in fall 2015.

Rachel Heise Bolten is a graduate student in the Department of English at Stanford University, focusing on nineteenth and twentieth century American literature and culture. 


Leslie Butler is an associate professor in the History department at Dartmouth College, where she teaches a variety of courses in American intellectual and cultural history.

Constance DeVereaux is a cultural policy scholar and Director of the LEAP Institute for the Arts at Colorado State University. She received an interfiled PhD in philosophy and political science from Claremont Graduate University and an MFA in fiction and creative non-fiction from Antioch University, Los Angeles.

Robin E. Field is Associate Professor of English and Director of the Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching at King’s College in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Virginia. She is co-editor of Transforming Diaspora: Communities beyond National Boundaries (2011) and Associate Editor of South Asian Review. She has published articles on Jhumpa Lahiri, Sandra Cisneros, Alice Walker, Jana Monji, and Lynne Sharon Schwartz.

Raymond Hain is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Providence College in Providence, Rhode Island. His research centers on Aristotelian ethics and the history of ethics, as well as applied ethics (including the ethics of architecture). He is currently working on an Aristotelian form of discourse ethics.

Jennie Ikuta is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at the University of Tulsa. As a political theorist, she is interested in debates concerning the spread of modern democracy in Western Europe and the United States in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.

Patrick LaPierre is Associate Professor of History at SUNY Canton. He received his BA from McGill University, his MA from Concordia University, and his PhD from the University of Rochester in American history.

Trevor Latimer is currently a scholar-in-residence in the Department of Political Science at the University of Georgia. In 2016-2017, he will be a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Political Economy Project at Dartmouth College. He received his Ph.D in Politics from Princeton University in 2015. His research interests include American political thought, contemporary democratic theory, the history of political thought, and the localist tradition in the United States. His work has appeared in the European Journal of Political Theory.

Patrick Neal is Professor of Political Science at the University of Vermont, where he teaches in the area of political theory. His primary interests are the tradition of modern liberalism and its critics from both the right and left, and the relations between religion and politics. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Toronto in 1985.

Jean Elisabeth Pedersen is Associate Professor of History in the Eastman School of Music and the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering at the University of Rochester.

Greg Robinson is Professor of History at l'Université du Québec À Montréal, a French-language institution in Montreal, Canada, and a researcher there at the Center for United States Studies of the Chaire Raoul-Dandurand.

Zachary M. Schrag is a professor of history at George Mason University. He is the author of two books, The Great Society Subway: A History of the Washington Metro, and Ethical Imperialism: Institutional Review Boards and the Social Sciences, 1965-2009, both of them published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.